Being a Young Ambassador with the Writers’ Centre – Amelia Year 10

I am really excited to share that I am a member of the Young Ambassadors’ programme for 2018. Along with twelve other ambassadors I will be sharing and promoting a love of reading, writing and books. Over the next 12 months we will be helping to spread the word of Norwich as England’s first UNESCO City of Literature.

I am so excited to be a Young Ambassadors and really looking forward to working with the Writers’ Centre. As a Young Ambassador I have been offered so many great opportunities: writing blogs, reviewing literary events, completing my Arts Award and interviewing authors to name a few.

One of my personal aims is to really work within my school and community celebrating literature. Literature I believe should be an integral part of growing up. As a young adult I feel that literature can be so beneficial in helping us to understand ourselves and the world around us. As a student I have found that careers in literature are not advertised as much as other careers and that young people are not made aware of careers in the literature sector. I really want to change this through working with the Writer’s Centre and hope to promote careers

I really want to help make my fellow students aware of the opportunities available to them. An upcoming event is the Young Norfolk Writing Competition 2018. This competition open to 11-18 year olds wants the “freshest and boldest words in Norfolk.” Entrants are able to submit a really diverse range of work: short stories, poems, lyrics, scripts and essays. There are some fantastic prizes on offer including professional mentoring, publication on the Writers’ Centre Norwich website and bookish prizes. The deadline for entering this competition is 5pm on Monday 4th June 2018. For more information including the rules please head to the Writers’ Centre Norwich’s website: https://www.writerscentrenorwich.org.uk/working-with-schools/young-norfolk-writing-competition/

I would really urge anyone with a interest in writing to enter the competition. The prizes offered are really amazing. Last year as a finalist I was lucky enough to receive a professional mentoring session with the poet laureate of Birmingham. This was a fantastic experience. Having entered in the past I found he competition really offered a way to push yourself in your writing. I found it also made me hone my writing skills. Taking part in the competition also provides you with links to the Writers’ Centre which could be useful in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *