A family review of the Kate Greenaway shortlisted titles.

I really liked the Journey. I felt it was really touching and showed what happened in a creative way with the colours. I liked how you could tell they were insignificant at some points due to their size compared to other things. I really liked how the book doesn’t have an ending but continues. I hope people like this book because it shows how tough life is if you have to leave your home.  Esme Lou-Lou Daisy, aged 10

My favourite was ‘A Tribe of Kids’ because I liked the bit when he met the other kids and he hugged his family. I liked the rocks bit. I liked all the names for the different animals. I liked when he pretends to be an elephant and a gorilla. I liked seeing the shells and when he got home to his family. Tancred, aged 5

I thought ‘Tidy’ was really good and I liked how he thought it was all messy and he wanted everything to be tidy but then he realised he had made a big mistake. I like it when he put concrete down and then they had to make it all messy all again. I liked the beautiful characters. I though the Badger was funny but also a bit of a twit! He was also a bit selfish. I think the moral of the story is that things should be left as they are. Valentine, Edmund, Tobias aged 8

One of my favourite books on the shortlist was ‘The Wolves of Crumpaw’. I loved the beautiful illustrations that are so simple. I loved how the wolves blend into the landscape in the pictures as it shows the relationship between the environment and animals. The pictures add and turn the non-fiction book into a story that is really powerful and emotive. I loved the small comic book like panels in the story. I think the different size of the illustrations really adds to the story. I liked the beautiful double page pictures at the start of each chapter. I think this is a stylistically beautiful and compelling read. Amelia, aged 14

I loved the book. I really liked the wolf on the cover – he looks like he is going to eat you up. Tancred, age 5

I liked the hole at the front of the book ‘Tidy’. I liked Foxy. The forest is messy and beautiful. I like the book. Romilly, Nancy, Phyllis age 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *